NSW School Eastern & Western Divisions Information

We are often asked for information on which schools are in the Eastern and Western Divisions in New South Wales. There is not alot of information published relating to the subject but we were able to communicate with the NSW Department of Education to get some limited info.

Why do Western Division schools in NSW return a week later?

In New South Wales the Western Division schools generally return to school one week later than their Eastern Division counterparts. The response from the NSW Department of Education was that these different start dates are based on geographic variables and historic precedent. From what we can gather the main reason for the later return for the Western Division is that it is due to the higher temperatures experienced in the Western Suburbs during that time of year. So to spare the teachers and students from the heat, the Western Schools return one week later. In addiiton, there is reference to the Western Division of NSW in the Teachers Salaries and Conditions Award with respect to Climatic Disability.

Which schools are in which division?

This is a difficult topic to answer as we could not locate a detailed list or map showing which schools were in which division.

The NSW Department of Education did refer us to the New South Wales Industrial Relations Commission Industrial Gazette where we found detailed reference to the Western Division in the Crown Employees (Teachers in Schools and Related Employees) Salaries and Conditions Award 2014.

In this document it is stated that Western Division schools are categorised as schools that are "located in the Western Division of New South Wales upon or to the west of a line starting from a point on the right bank of the Murray River opposite Swan Hill (Victoria), and thence by straight lines passing through the following towns or localities in the order stated, viz., Conargo, Coleambally, Hay, Rankins Springs, Marsden, Condobolin, Peak Hill, Nevertire, Gulargambone, Coonabarabran, Wee Waa, Moree, Warialda, Ashford and Bonshaw". This information can be found here http://www.ircgazette.justice.nsw.gov.au/irc/ircgazette.nsf/webviewdate/C8484.

To date we have been unable to track down a map or more detailed list of specific schools in each division.